Starting FAST again

Well, me and Harley are going to be starting FAST again. what FAST is, is a program called Families And Schools Together. I have been through the program a few times. I love the program, for the most part. But, I and Stacy (friend), decided that we needed something to help us get closer to our children that well, we don’t connect with all the time. And let’s face it, me and Harley well, there isn’t alot of connecting going on there. So, we are going through it with just those children. Noone else the other kids get to hang out at home. lol.

Here is a normal evening at FAST. We all get together and get seated at our table. While we wait for time for dinner to be served, we play games or do activities with our family. In this case Harley will be stuck with me. lol. This can be drawing, doing a puzzle, coloring, feeling charades, numerous things. Then we do FAST hellos. Which you introduce your family, then everyone goes Hello Poling/Lockwood family, and then this is the fun part. We all yell, Hello FAST families. We like to make a competition out of it and see who can yell the loudest. Unfortunately this time, I think we are going to be lacking because well, I am down 4 kids and a husband. But, that is ok.
Then comes a song or two, which are all Fast related, which is family related songs. Some of them are funny some are just songs. lol

Then comes the food part. Miss Henry says a prayer and then, you get to pick one of your children to serve you the food. Yes, folks, parents get served first. Can you believe it???? Then the children are served their food. We eat for a while and then the children get split into their age appropriate groups and then us parents get to go to parent group while the children are off making crafts and being their ornery selves.

In parent groups we talk about a subject like oh how to deal with having a smooth morning before school. Ok, that was no big deal for me. But, other people have smaller children and they have to help them do that whole get dressed thing. Actually we talk about bigger issues than that. We talk about things like bad influences on our children. How do we deal with children who are having a rough time of it. Usuallly something that someone is going through there is someone there who has been through it and can offer a bit of advice or support. We play ice breakers, we have to say positive things about ourselves. And boy oh boy that isn’t easy.

Then we have buddy time. This is where we pair up with a parent and spend 7 minutes each just venting about our day our child or just anything and the other person has to listen to you and not interupt you and just let you have at it. Then it is the other person’s turn.

Then we have special play time. This is when they bring back one child of yours that you have chosen as the special play child. You spend 15 minutes doing child led play. You let the child tell you what to do and this is your special time. You can’t interrupt them and say do it this way. Nope, not allowed and you jsut don’t realize until yoiu do it just how hard that is.

After special play then it is off to the big circle. We all make a circle and then the raffle is drawn to see what family gets the basket. This is a wonderful laundry basket filled with 50.00 worth of stuff for your family, it is a mixture of games, books, toys, cleaning supplies, candles, etc….

Here is the catch, the family that wins the basket, (it is rigged so that every family wins), gets to cook dinner for everyone the next week. They supply the funds and the pans and then you just go to it.

All in all this is a really good program. You get to meet many people from your school that you may not have met before. Even being Booster president you don’t meet a lot of people at your school.

Actually the program is special to me because this is where I met my Bestest friend in the whole wide world, Stacy. A friendship started there that turned into a beautiful sistership. and she shared the most wonderful and heartwrenching time in my life and supported me through it I can never repay her for that. But, without going to FAST I never probably would have known her like I do now. And that my friends would be a tragedy.

Well, there it is people that is what FAST is.

2 Responses

  1. I AGREE WITH YOU BOBBI FAST WAS SOME OF THE BEST TIMES I HAD WHEN MY KIDS ATTENDED KENWOOD. I GOT SO MUCH OUT OF IT AND I ALSO GOT TO MEET TOU AND BECOME FRIENDS LOL REMEMBER THE TACO NIGHT… I FORGOT TO SEASON THE MEET FOR THE ENCHLADIA’S I’M GLAD YOU AND HARLEY ARE GOING AGAIN.

    SHEILA

  2. Yes, I do remember that. That was a lot of fun. And really it didn’t taste like you forgot the seasoning at all. Oh boy do I remember cooking all of the hamburger for that. I think I made 12 lbs.

    This time through we only have to make dessert they are making the meal and it is being catered a few times too. Found that out last night. Yahoo.

    Thanks for commenting my blog. I have missed you, and the kids.

Leave a Reply

