Happenings around here

Well, it has been eventful, I can tell you that. First the girls’ grandfather called me. That would be their dad’s dad not mine. I almost had a heart attack. We talked for about 4 hours. Well, he talked I listened. Remember the story about my Aunt? The whole doesn’t do drugs anymore, talk, talk, talk, apologizing for everything wants to be back in my life? Well, there you have it. Except he wants to see his grandchildren. I have reservations. I really do, but, I don’t want them to miss out on the opportunity to know him. He is clean and sober and has been for about 3 years. He has been off of the cocaine and pills for 5 and the alcohol for 3. He is one of those biker dude grandpa’s that Harley would love. But, I still have reservations. It has been 10 years since he has seen them and he only seen Stacey once. Stacey is really psyched. She just hears grandpa and just wants to have at it. She doesn’t know the history and doesn’t need to know the history. I feel if they are going to have a relationship with him it needs to be done with a clean slate and no judgements on their part. He aplogized for everything and seemed sincere for the most part about it and called me a great mom. I don’t know if he was buttering me up or not but, well, it was nice to have the complement. He has lung cancer and congestive heart failure among other things and I think that I have to make a decision soon. I spoke with their dad (he won’t talk to his dad at all). He said it was up to me but, he didn’t want them to go over to his house and that the visits should be supervised. Which I agree with I would never just take my kids over to someone’s house and just dump them, long lost grandpa or not.

Then we have Miss Harley who decided to trip over a rock and mess up her toe really badly. While Mike was bandaging her toe, as everyone knows I don’t do blood. lol, She started slipping down in the chair and her eyelids, shoulders and head and hands started twitching. It lasted less than a minute. I thought that she had just fainted because well, maybe the pain got to her. So, I called ask a nurse, they told me to take her to the hospital because twitching is not fainting, it is a seizure. So, 8 1/2 hours, a cat scan, iv, and EKG later, we find out that there was no reason for it and to just watch her if it happens again just bring her back. She had a great time at the hospital. That sounds really silly, but, she did. The nurse was very kind to her and showed her everything. She gave her the part of the IV that goes in your arm. Not the one that was actually in there, but, a new unused one. Then she got to see the pics of her brain. That was pretty cool.

We would have gotten out of there a few hours before but, a baby came in that wasn’t breathing It was really scary and gave me really bad flashbacks, but, I did what I do best and prayed for the little guy. He was less than a month old and his mom just found him laying in his crib and he was lethargic and wouldn’t move. So, she rushed him in there. I am so happy Harley was sleeping at that point because I don’t know how she would have dealt with it.

The hubby is still job searching. He’ll find something soon. At least I hope. lol. He is driving me crazy being here but, don’t tell him that. Maybe, I’ll blog about that tomorrow. The experience of the hubster being around all hours of the day. Which is something really new for me because this is a guy that never took vacation or a sick day. The only time that he has taken off was if he had to go to court because of a child support evaluation, or because JT passed away. So, really not used to him invading my morning time. So, if you don’t see me it is because he has hijacked my computer.

Tootles all!

3 Responses

  1. I think you should give the grandfather a supervised chance. Sure, he might be buttering you up, but you don’t know. And I know you’d hate to have it on your conscious of not really knowing. And if you’re there, I know you’ll protect the kids.

    I’ll keep Harley in my prayers. I wonder why she had a seizure?

    I have to laugh at the hubby-constantly-in-my-space comment. We love them, but we do get used to our routines, don’t we?

  2. I’m glad that grandpa has cleaned up his act. I think your girls need to see him, sounds like he may not have a lot of time left w/those health issues, but that perhaps the best way to do it would be to have it someplace public and neutral with you and hubby present.

    I’ll be praying for Harley, that sounds scary for a mom to deal with – the unknown is much worse than the known.

  3. Will keep Harley in my prayers that all is well with her. Glad that grandpa has cleaned up his act. It sounds like a good thing to let the girls see him supervised. They get to know their dad’s dad & grandpa gets to know & discover the blessings of having grandchildren. It may be a good thing for all in the long run.

Leave a Reply

