OH my! Memory Lane….

Stacy and I are going to Rib Fest Today. Oh Boy, I can’t wait!! We are talking ribs, corn, mac n cheese. The works. Rib Fest is special to us, because last year we just happened upon it after having one of our in depth conversations about religion. I was really confused and depressed at the time. JT had been gone for a little over 2 months and I was having doubts and I was really panicking at the thought of what if what I believe is not true? Oh my gosh what if, what if, what if. But, we went to McDonald’s and went driving around and happened upon the rib fest. Oh my goodness the ribs were delicious, we listened to some jazz and had fun. Just some real honest to goodness fun that I thought that I couldn’t have. Well, we are going back again this year. No kids, this is the 2nd annual going for us. lol. First we are going to go visit JT, and then we are headin for the ribs. The park where they have it is right across from the cemetary. I can’t wait. We are leaving when The Man gets home from work. But, I was reading my Xanga blog, I never post in it. I abandoned it for WordPress. And just the stuff that is in there blows my mind. I don’t remember a lot of things from the 1st 4 – 6 months that JT was gone. I remember bits and pieces and to have the memorys written down is just mind blowing to me to see how I thought just a year ago and to see for myself how far I have come. Because people can tell you until you are blue in the face but, to actually read it is another. I thought that I would put it up for your viewing pleasure. So, here is my Xanga entry about the rib fest and our conversation at McDonald’s.

Have a great Day!

Tuesday, July 24, 2007
Really depressed….Just like the title says. I am really depressed. I am just not interested in anything. I can’t focus. Stacy (my friend) said I need to update this. So, I am. We went out Saturday night, just to get out and get away. We happened upon the Jazz and Rib Fest at the park. It was really great. See here in little ole springfield, we have a Summer Arts Festival that runs about 6 weeks and everything there is free. Well, except the food. So, we decided to stop and walk around get some exercise and really enjoyed it. We sampled some ribs and corn too. They had resonable prices. I was surprised.

We were talking and we got on the subject of life after death. Like where our souls go and such. I have had some Jehovah Witnesses that have been stopping by and I said ok, I will study with you but, I don’t agree with some of the things that you teach and expect me to disagree. She agreed. But, she told me Saturday morning I think that it was that bodies are just lying there waiting. No souls go to heaven, heaven is full. Now, that goes against everything that I am taught and well, I just can’t believe it. I have heard of the resurrection and I have heard souls going to heaven.

Stacy and I were also talking about the fact that every bible is different and everyone interprets it a different way. We could each read the same verse and have different interpretations of it. It is so confusing. I told her that we really need to find someone and talk to them about things someone who is really well versed in the bible. Maybe who has special training in the original format so to speak.

We also talked about different religions. How do we know which one is right. I mean you have Jewish, Buddist, Hindu, Christian, etc…..

They mostly all have a basis of each other but, different aspects. Now, how do we know which one we are supposed to be or ….. here is a crazy thought, what if they are all right??? My favorite verse is Ephesians 4:5 There is one Lord, One Faith, One Baptism..

If that is the case, then we ALL should serve the same God, believe the same, etc..

Sorry about all of the etc…

I am not sure. I really need to get a hold of my pastor and pick his brain so to speak. I just really don’t like bugging people, but, this is bugging me.

I think the Jehovah Witness people are doing what they are supposed to do. Putting a seed of doubt in my heart and I really don’t like that.

I should really just tell them no go away don’t want to hear it, but, I am truely not that mean.

Jean told me that you need to minister to all people regardless of your differences. I feel though that i haven’t the tools to do so. I would really like to get into a good bible study and just start learning and learning some more. Because the more I try to do it on my own, the more I can’t do it. I have no one to ask questions to or get another point of view. My grandmother sends me a bible study book once a month it is a A Closer Walk. That is fine and all, but, I have no direction. I need direction. I pray for it but, when there is no one but myself to lead, then well, I get no where. Very discouraging at the moment. But, I plan on fixing that.

Well, thanks for listening to me.

oh yeah, on a side note… The dug the place (hole) for JT’s marker. I hope it comes in soon. It is beautiful..

So see you all another day here soon.

4 Responses

  1. Have you come any closer to your truth?

    Tune in tomorrow for the rest of the story. lol I knew the truth but, the doubts the JW’s were putting my head were trying to take over at that time. I talked to my pastor about things, and the JW’s no longer come around. At that time I was grasping at everything and anything that would make me feel closer to JT. And I mean everything. But, I am going to write a second part to that tomorrow with another Xanga entry. I guess the next few days is going to be memory lane.

  2. Hugs, Bobbie. I hope you have a nice day with your hubby at the Rib Fest.

    We had a couple of JWs stop by our house about 2 weeks ago. I feel sorry for them….all that religion and no hope. We have that Blessed Hope in Jesus Christ!

  3. (((Bobbie))) I marvel at how you were concerned for them in the middle of your grief. What a tender heart you have. I’m glad the Lord protected your heart with the scripture inside. I think that verse in Eph was guarding your heart against confusion.

  4. Bobbie, I have a fun story to tell you. Jehovah Witnesses came to my office for 12 years and for 7 of those years they brought someone along with them that they were mentoring.

    I decided to bless them. So….I would get excited and tell them how my Sunday School lesson went and what God had blessed me with in teaching. Soon, they didn’t bring their new converts. The last time they did they were in a van and I went outside and witnessed to 4 others in the van.

    Because I was so animated with the Lord they really didn’t get a chance to say anything. I always took their literature and filled in the trash can. I felt if I could take a copy it was one less copy for them to give out.

    I got so tickled with God blessing me in a relationship with them because the tables were turned.

Leave a Reply

