My mom and Music…..

I came across a song that I haven’t heard in years. My mom used to play it all the time. I couldn’t believe that I remember the words. The song is Seven Spanish Angels. By Willie Nelson and the awesome wonderful Ray Charles. My mom and I both loved Ray Charles. My mom is the one that made me love music as much as I do. I can listen to just about any kind of music from just about any decade and pretty much I know it.

She also loved Freddy Fender. Her and my Aunt say we are related to him, but, I pretty much think they are delusional. But, my favorite song by him is Before the Next Teardrop Falls. I remember she couldn’t make chicken Mole without listening to him. I guess it added flavor. lol. Honestly, though you could tell what we were having for dinner by what music she was listening to. It was weird as I look back on it. But, it was one stable thing that I had in my life. Music.

If it was going to be fried chicken, mac n cheese mashed potatoes and gravy, well, Tammy Wynette and George Jones would be on. If It was a light dinner sandwiches or something it would be something light and airy playing. And oh boy if she was mad, it would be something along those lines. Something angry. Like It’s Judy’s turn to Cry or something like that. When she wanted to add some soul to her cooking she would play the Temptations or the Four Tops and we would all dance around the kitchen.

She used the 4 tops to get us into the cleaning mood. We would dance around with the broom or the mop and it would be done in no time.

When her dad died she played George Jones, He Stopped Loving Her Today, over and over. She believed that her dad still loved her mom. It broke all of our hearts because she kept saying now daddy is gone he can stop loving mommy.

Music was just a large part of our lives. I have a song for each of my children for when they were born. And we always have some kind of music playing. Harley really loves music and can’t do anything without it. Whether it be take a bath, cleaning, cooking, or just being. And she likes all kinds like me. She is the one that is most like me. She looks like me. She is moody like I am you name it. That child is me. lol.

Well, I’ll leave you with this, how I remember it:

2 Responses

  1. I love reading about how your mom used music in your lives. What a wonderful gift! I use to have an album which was very old and you played it on a record player on 33-it was marching music. I use to clean when I played it. I like to listen to traditional Christian music and songs from the 50s and 60s.

  2. I used to be able to play Seven Spanish Angels on the piano when I was younger. 🙂 I hadn’t thought of that in years.

Leave a Reply

