How did Santa come out of Christmas?

We finally decorated for Christmas last night. We put on some Christmas music and the kids cleaned up the living room, because well, it was looking pretty terrible, we moved things around and they had at it.

As the kids were sitting there watching Mike do the mantle because well, Mike does the mantle no one else can. We just aren’t worthy enough. lol. Anyway, Stacey started asking if we thought her dad would put up a tree. I said I don’t know. She said probably not because he doesn’t believe in God and you can’t have a Christmas if you don’t believe in God. Then she really started thinking. She said, I don’t remember Santa in the bible, where did he come from? And me being tired from baking all day long, just went I have no idea. Because I really don’t know where Santa came from. I never really thought about it.

Then here is Timmy pipping up. Well, let’s find the elf from the Santa Claus Movie, he can tell us, he is over 1000 years old. And I kid you not, he believed that elf was that old. And he wasn’t joking. I tried telling him it was a movie it wasn’t true. He is 14 people, can you believe he believes this???? But, nope he believes it.

So, needless to say I have a lot of researching to do on where in the world did Santa come from. Because she wants answers and when she wants answers she will not stop until she gets them.

So, off I go…

3 Responses

  1. I believe “Santa” originated from Christopher Cringle who would leave dowry’s for women who did not have them at Christmastime…at least that is what I remember being told. Great questions from a young mind-wonderful that you are seeking answers for her.

    Thank you for entering my “Cool Christmas Giveaway!” I too like Ephesians 4:4-6. Such awesome truth! My current favorite Scripture is I Chronicles 16:11 “Seek the Lord and His strength; seek His face always.” At times when I feel worn out this Scripture encourages me to seek His strength and also His face for direction.

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  2. You got me thinking about that. For years I wondered why some of us as Christians let Santa into what is celebration of Christ’s birth. I think we allow Santa because he embodies what we call “the true spirit of Christmas.” Giviing to others…

    I have read that it is “the timing of Christmas and the gift giving of St. Nicholas that tie the two together. In the Christmas story, the Magi brought gifts to honor the baby Jesus. Today, people express their love and joy by giving each other gifts, sometimes claiming that they were left by Santa Claus.”

    Here’s wishing you a Blessed Holiday…

  3. I have the history of Santa on my blog, I will find it and bring it back to a current one. Give me a little time to figure out how to do it. Maybe that will help.

Leave a Reply

