Going out on her own a recipe project…

Ashley is going to be going out on her own here in a few years and I have thought what can I give her when she does leave to go live and work and play out in the big old world that isn’t my home? And I have thought and thought and well….you get the picture. It hit me this morning….She loves to cook and try different things. So, I have decided to put together a cookbook just for her. I am going to write it out. I’m not going to take the easy way out. I want her to feel the love coming from it and have something to remember her time in our home. I want to include pictures, little memories, things of that sort. I think I want to do this for all the girls. Which is why I am glad that I have this blog, to chronicle what is going on in our home and lives. I am going to put some of her favorites in it. Some of the recipes that she has mastered and would eat again. Also, I am going to put in there cooking terms, like dredging and dutch oven and some of the things I think she would want to know.

This is going to take a while. I want to get it just right. I have a little over a year until she graduates and goes off to college. That is her plan not mine. She already has a paid scholarship to Sinclair through her American Sign Language class. She wants to be an interpreter. And while she is doing that she wants to also go to school to be a veterinarian. She figures the interpreter part, which she loves by the way will pay the bills while she goes for the veterinarian part. She has a plan and I am oh so thankful. Did I tell you she took her exams and she got straight A’s on all of them??? Yeah and 4 of them were A+’s. She was struggling a while back and she is back on track now. She has a goal and she is shooting for it. I am so proud of her.

So, if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. Whether it be recipes, or suggested terms that I should put in there. Comment away. Cooking is not my forte. And I want to get this right. So, what do you think? Let me know.

One Response

  1. Such a wonderful idea. I LOVE cooking.

    I found you through Faces of Loss. I’m hosting a blogfest for mothers who have lost infants or children. I would love it if you could join us and share your story. Thanks for your time.
    -Elisa

    Here’s that link:
    http://ecwrites.blogspot.com/2011/09/only-50-more-days-until-golden-sky.html?showComment=1317367512296#c7067417673821287452

Leave a Reply

